Reflection 2b

Standard

When I first started this blog I was reluctant to put myself out there on social media and create my own content for fear of being wrong. I used this blog for personal expression and experience (Nardi, Schiano, Gumbrecht, & Swartz, 2004, p. 41). I loved the non-intrusive nature of blogging (Nardi et al., 2004, p. 43). I can see how it would be useful as a library staff member to easily document library content, sharing views and marketing programs. Brookover ( 2007, p. 28) states that it is imperative to consider why you are setting up a library blog first before investing time and effort. I love how she states that ‘reaching out and having conversations’ personalise the library’. This is especially important in a large, multi-branch council library like mine.

I have only used platforms for social means, keeping up with family and friends and listening and reading other people’s content. Since starting this blog I have started to follow more library based professionals and as a result am coming across more relevant information. I have changed the way I use my social media sites. I have streamlined my content so I don’t get bogged down with all the extra irrelevant postings.
You could say that my social technology behaviour has evolved. According to Berhoff’s (2010) ladder I am no longer firmly on the ‘spectator’ rung with little bursts into ‘joiners’. I am now a verified ‘collector’ as well as a ‘joiner’. The application of the INF206 Facebook page allowed me to post new content, ask questions, comment on other students’ posts and discuss the modules as I was working through them. I learnt that to get more I had to give more. Tom Spiglanin (2012) talks about reciprocity. Sharing knowledge with no expectations and receiving it in return, helped me create a community of practice ecology.

Using my blog as the social media tool to reflect on my professional growth gave me the opportunity to read widely and build my community online as well as safely explore and reflect on different social mediums. I particularly liked the flexibility and space blogging offers. Yang (2009, p. 13) pointed out the benefits of blogging includes hyperlinking to other resources and enhancing your community of practice through scaffolding, student centred learning and the incorporation of multiple perspectives. The learning, reflection and evaluation process is evident in the dated postings.

References
Berhoff, J. (2010, January 19). Social technographics: Conversations. Empowered. Retrieved from http://forrester.typepad.com/groundswell/2010/01/conversationalists-get-onto-the-ladder.html
Brookover, S. (2007). Why we blog. Library Journal, 132(19), 28.
Nardi, B. A., Schiano, D. J., Gumbrecht, M., & Swartz, L. (2004). Why we blog. Communications of the ACM, 47(12), 41. doi:10.1145/1035134.1035163
Spiglanin, T. (2012, April 1). Social Media: Give more to get more. Thoughts about workplace learning. Retrieved from http://tom.johnandrewrankin.com/2012/04/give-more-to-get-more/
Yang, S.-H. (2009). Using blogs to enhance critical reflection and community of practice. Educational Technology & Society, 12(2), 11–21.

Leave a Reply

