Creating my PLN

Standard

When I started this subject I sent out a tweet asking where to start with social media and social networking and I started following some social media accounts.

I was tagged in a post giving me some hints on who and what to follow.
Twitter PLN
Sally Turbitt (@Salinafix) October 25

After I retweeted a post from @sociallibraries I discovered that I had set the ball rolling on creating my very own PLN (Personal Learning Network)
Social Media PLN
-Social Media (@Social Media) October 26

According to flickr user Jeff Utecht I am at the immersion stage of adopting my PLN.
PLN
Photo Attribution: Stages of PLN adoption by flickr user jutecht; creative commons share-alike

PLNs have been around for a very long time. They were small communities that included your work colleagues, family or friends. They were a collection of people who you exchanged information with for mutual benefits. Web 2.0 technologies have given us tools to reach all across the globe for our communities now. Kate Klingensmith (2009)wrote a piece about them in the online world.

“Social media spark a revelation that we, the people, have a voice, and through the democratization of content and ideas we can once again unite around common passions, inspire movements, and ignite change.” (Solis, 2010)

I am keen to jump into the ‘Evaluation’ stage so I can start to evaluate my networks and focus on the most important communities that can help me learn and develop my social networking knowledge. This is very important because there is a plethora of information out there and it is easy to become overwhelmed. And I don’t want to become cynical like William J. Furney (2014)

References
Furney, W. J. (2014, January 29). The social media fetish. The Blog. Retrieved from http://www.huffingtonpost.com/william-j-furney/the-social-media-fetish_b_4681200.html
Klingensmith, K. (2009). PLN: Your Personal Learning Network made easy. Once a Teacher. Retrieved from http://onceateacher.wordpress.com/2009/05/05/pln-your-personal-learning-network-made-easy/
Social Libraries [Sociallibraries]. (2013, October 26). Why Social Media Isn’t Working For Your Library » Public Libraries Online: http://publiclibrariesonline.org/2013/05/why-social-media-isnt-working-for-your-library/#.UmwzGSCrjQw.twitter … via @publibonline #socialmedia #libraries [Tweet]. Retrieved from https://twitter.com/sociallibraries/status/394213684668411904
Solis, B. (2010). Engage! the complete guide for brands and businesses to build, cultivate, and measure success in the new web. Hoboken, N.J.: John Wiley. Retrieved from http://www.contentreserve.com/TitleInfo.asp?ID={AA6F73DA-4B28-4DB5-A622-232FF7391310}&Format=50
Turbitt, S [Salinafix]. (2013, October 25). Hey @Shazazzle, you might like to follow @sociallibraries #INF206 #session3 #study #201390 🙂 [Tweet]. Retrieved from https://twitter.com/Salinafix/status/393871556562010112
Utecht, J. (2008, April 3). Stages of PLN adoption[Infographic]. Retrieved from http://www.flickr.com/photos/jutecht/2384289406/

One thought on “Creating my PLN

Leave a Reply

